Valerian | Fangirl Friday

Last Sunday I went to see Valerian with my best friend. I wanted to for a long time, mainly because Dane DeHaan is one of my favourite actors, if not my favourite actor of this generation/age group. He is crazy talented and you know that if you saw Life, A Cure for Wellness or Kill Your Darlings. He is not crazy famous and most people still ask me who is is when I talk about him, but I push his movies on everyone, so…

I knew the general twist of the Valerian stories and their impact on the genre in general before watching the movie, but I did not read the comics so I can’t say if they did their origins justice. However I think it was a really enjoyable SciFi movie – it’s a Luc Besson movie, so I did not expect anything less. Especially in the scenes in the city life it feels a lot like the Fifth Element (which 20th anniversary is right around the corner) and I did appreciate that a lot. In general while the world building takes it’s time, it is worth that because not only does this slow pace make it possible to have a look at all those details and worlds, it also shows all the beautiful creatures. And they are so beautiful, the whole movie is quite aesthetic – to be honest only my favourite alien Tilda Swinton was missing (but then again I would like her to be in every SciFi movie).
The story seems like the typical adventure/superhero story, but it is a lot deeper in my opinion, because it does not just have a good guy/bad guy story line, but actually explores reasons, the bad on all sides and in general to me it seemed very much like questioning the fighting in general. It is much more diplomatic than a lot of the genre and I appreciate that. Of course, there is still fighting and female badassery, so I am okay with that. Due to that the movie is rather long (okay, I was also tired while watching it), but it’s very worth it.
Besides the beautiful colours and image I obviously loved that Dane DeHaan was the main character, I think he had better movies, but then again this movie is much less serious than my faves of his. Cara Delevingne was pretty good as well, especially since her character was pretty cool and she fit the role. I think/hope she’ll grow over time in her upcoming movies. A highlight of course was Rihanna’s cameo/role. Not only did she look stunning, I think she did a fantastic job acting as well. And to be honest, that surprised me a bit, but in a very positive way.
As a whole this was a very enjoyable, chill movie, especially whe it comes to pictures and the harmony with the chosen music.

Now, I am excited for Tulip Fever, because it’s not only with Dane DeHaan, but also with one of my other favourites Christoph Waltz (not to mention Judi Dench and Alicia Vikander).

Leave a Reply

