Handmade Update June 2017

This month was me catching up on all the sewing I missed over the last two months. So, there was some time when I created a lot of stuff out of fabric I got at my grandparents, so here we go.

Wednesday Watercolour Painting
Wednesday Postcard
5th of June
Well, first I decided to paint Wednesday of watercolours and to be honest I really like the red background – that idea worked out well.

Star Wars Skirt
etsy Star Wars Skirt
9th, 10th of June
For my etsy store I made a Star Wars Skirt and there is still some fabric left, so you might want to head over there.

Lace Border Dress
Dress with Lace Border
10th of June
This project is based on a ModCloth dress, I adored for quite some time. It’s actually apricot, but I wanted something a bit witchy and that dark lavender tone is more than perfect. Also I love the lace details and I think it matches the tone very well. It’s pretty long compared to my 50s style wardrobe, so I am pretty excited to wear it for the first time.

Bat Sleeve Dress
Bat Wing 60s Dress
11th of June
Inspired my among other things this I wanted a bat wing dress – I wanted something sixties, somwthing that would actually require a beehive and Twiggy Makeup. There is a little issue with the lining showing on the right side, but I will figure this out.

Carot Crop Top
Carot Crop/Bra Top
11th of June
You know I got a couple of fabrics in Augsburg and now I decided to make some crop tops. This fabric is so adorable and I saw this pattern online, so I created my own based on the photograph on the front.

Governess Dress
Chiffon Edwardian/Victorian inspired Dress
12th of June
Recently I fell in love with Edwardian and Victorian dresses and really like those gothic vibes (gothic as in 19th century horror stories and the aesthetic, not pop culture goth). I think it looks a bit like somthing a governess would wear. It is inspired by this, however longer and without the collar (because I did not enjoy the way the collar looked and think this looks a bit older that way).

Wine Two Piece
Wine Red Two Piece (Cape/Skirt)
13th of June
Another one inspired by etsy is this two pice – I immediately fell in love with the idea of wearing a skirt as a cape when it gets colder. As with the first dress I wanted something darker, so I went for the wine tone. (Also it makes me feel a bit like Jayne Mansfield.)

Kitsch Kitten Crop Top
Kitty Kitsch Crop Top
14th of June
This is probably my favourite crop top I made this month – the print is so kitchy and I think the sweetheart neckline is perfect for the print. It’s also great because I don’t have to wear a bra with it.

Sheep Crop Top
Sheep Crop/Bra Top
14th of June
I’m so glad I decided to made tops now, because with not really shopping for clothing anymore and also not having too many tops this is an easy way to stock my closet. I definitively have to work on my blouse making, so that is another project for the rest of 2017.

20s Day Dress Slip Dress
20s Slip Dress
15th of June
With my current love for the 19th century to the 20s also made me create this dress (it’s based on a white slip dress I saw browsing on etsy, but I lost the link) – I wanted a soft, light (in weight and colour) cotton and this one has the perfect feel to it and I just love a beautiful insect print. I think it’s perfect for a 20s day dress

Sailor Skirt Red Mum
Mum’s Red Sailor Skirt
28th, 29th of June
My mum recently bought fabric for table runners, pillows and placemats and since she really liked it she asked me for a riviera style skirt which could be tied, so I made one. I really like the style and consider making more skirts with ribbons to tie.

Thyra Dresses
I also gave to of my old dresses to my friend Thyra and she looks adorable in them.

So this is what I made this month. What have you made this week?

3 thoughts on “Handmade Update June 2017

  1. I love love love your crop tops – I think they would look absolutely adorable with a sweet blazer for work … You’ve done a great job of everything but those are definitely my favorites. I think there are likely endless looks that are possible with those

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: So we can play a game. It’s called, “Is There a God?” | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

