Twist and Shout

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

Well, it has only been a year until I managed to take some photos of my prom dress for graduation, however besides the missing false lashes I’m actually pretty close to the look (Twist and Shout was my song to get my graduation diploma). To be honest I’m currently really in the mood for twenties dresses and actually everything back to the 1850s. Edwardian and Victorian fashion in particular do get me – you will see that in the upcoming Handmade Update. I think it’s so interesting how fashion changed over the years – even within two or three years, especially in the twentieth century.

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

I’m always wondering if in fifty years people will admire what was chic in the 2010s. I mean, I highly doubt that because there is very little that is in style for more than a season or two. In a way that’s pretty cool, but it also ensures that fast fashion companies constantly make money because people have to replace their clothing. Not only because it’s just not chic anymore, but also due to the quality. I’ve talked about my journey towards slow fashion before, but it’s very present on my mind. And to be honest it makes me angry how fashion has changed from making things at home/getting them done by a seamstress or tailor to not caring about where things come from and who has to suffer so that we can buy things – I don’t want to write “at a cheap price”, because most high fashion/expensive labels do just the same and it’s a shame. I think we should all appreciate the act of making clothing more and think a little bit about where this or that piece comes from.

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

20s Cream Prom Dress

Dress – handmade | Faux Pearl Necklaces – handmade by mum | Shoes – Super Me (I think, I got them via amazon) | Lipstick – Bésame Classic Color Lipstick in C208 Bésame Red

Leave a Reply

