Wonder Woman | Fangirl Friday

Last night I finally got to see Wonder Woman as it took quite some time to be release in Germany (I have noo idea why). However I made it and I enjoyed it a lot.

Here’s the thing, and I think I told you that before – in general I prefer DC, the characters in the comics etc are more interesting and the movies are darker, more serious (well, back in the day they were really goofy and that was fine too). The whole funny thing Marvel has going on is not really my cup of tea. One thing for example, and Wonder Woman showed tht quite well: caring about those left behind, those dying to the hero – they care, meanwhile the Avengers at least destroyed a ton of buildings (+people) without really looking back. Wonder Woman took the time to look at those suffering due to the hero/”good guys” and also questioned the good guy. I think it was very well done with The Chief (a Native American) telling Diana that his people were killed by Steve Trevor’s people – it was only a short moment, but to me that acknowledged a lot.
The casting was amzing in my opinion. Gal Gadot portrayed Diana perfectly, she was both very though, intuitively and considering her actions before as well as after. I think she was a great first female movie superhero. The only thing that really confused me was that: in the movie Ares is the bad guy and the Amazons were created as a last defense against him by Zeus, however in the actual mythology Amazons are daughters of Ares and Harmonia (also in this version he was kind of like Lucifer). Well, I only read a couple of Diana’s stories as comics and I do not really recal how it was handled there, but it surprised me to say the least. Nevertheless I think the Amazon myths was treated perfectly with the wonderful island (that reminded me of the second Sissi movie), the training, the outfits and everything! The women were very diverse and it was really intense to see the realitionships, especially the mother daugther one between Diana and the queen. Besides the Amazons, Diana’s (and Steve’s) crew of misfits was very elaborate and the crafted interesting characters with ease.
I enjoyed the storyline and even the fighting scenes (which is something I don’t really like in most movies) were handled well, especially colourwise. It was funny at times, but it didn’t overdo it and felt really intense for the genre. For a superhero movie it was also surprisingly questioning the good guy/bad guy concept and I think just in general Patty Jenkins did a great job directing. Also, the way the story was introduced was a very nice touch.

Basically I really enjoyed this badass feminist movie and look forward to more of Wonder Woman.

2 thoughts on “Wonder Woman | Fangirl Friday

Leave a Reply

