a few things to do in Copenhagen

Copenhagen Denmark Guide
I was told Copenhagen was the most beautiful of the Scandinavian capitals/big cities, but to be honest, I was disappointed. Don’t get me wrong, I did not hate it, but it was nothing special/incredibly beautiful for me. Never the less I want to share what I did like about the city.

Sightseeing
Like in Amsterdam you can get a Copenhagen Card with a beautiful design and for a appropriate price (if you enjoy museums, castels etc of course), but since I had a museum day, I probably made up for the price in that day alone. The museum quarter is easily accessible and enjoybale by foot, usually it’s up to five minutes from one place to another. For paintings, both SMK (statens museum for kunst) and Hirschsprung are beautiful collections with a lot of Scandinavian art from eras I love (romantic landscape artworks are what I care for most and there was so much Dahl even though quite a bit was closed). Hirschsprung has a fantastic installation where you can listen to classic music matching paintings of people making music.

Rosenborg Copenhagen

Rosenborg


Rosenborg Copenhagen

Rosenborg


The Rosenborg castle is very close by, too and if you’re there at 10 am sharp you can get in within seconds, an hour later a lot of people were waiting already.

Geologisk Museum Copenhagen

Geologisk Museum


Geologisk Museum Copenhagen

Geologisk Museum


Of course, I went to the Geological Museum as well (it’s across the street from Rosenborg) – it’s small, but very lovely. And especially the second floor is pretty cool with the fossils, minerals and things like that.

Zoologisk Museum Copenhagen

Zoologisk Museum


There are even more fossils at the Zoological Museum which is near the university and there is a fantastic Diplodocus (Misty) and a video about how she was found (I cried, it was so beautiful and I’m a crybaby).

Glyptotheket Copenhagen

Glyptotheket


One of the most famous museums is the Ny Carlsbery Glypthoteket with it’s selection of artwork, statues and beautiful winter garden. The winter garden probably was my favourite thing and I guess it’s a lot of fun during actual winter as well.
If you have a walk through the city, I’m sure you will want to pass beautiful Nyhavn and the Little Mermaid, but I would highly recommend passing Palads Cinema, too. It’s a colourful cinema near Central Station and so so amazing.

Slotsholmen Castle Christiansborg Kopenhagen

Slotsholmen Christiansborg Castle


Slotsholmen Castle Christiansborg Kopenhagen Kitchen

Slotsholmen Kitchen


Slotsholmen Castle Christiansborg Kopenhagen Ruins

Slotsholmen Ruins


Slotsholmen is were you find Christiansborg, the church, ruins, representation rooms and the kitchen and it’s very nice just walking around the various “stations”, especially the ruins are really interesting.

Cafés

Paludan Copenhagen

Paludan


One of the most beautiful cafés in my opinion was Paludan a shop for antique books and a café, too. It’s very lovely and so delicious. Also, you eat next to shelves of amazing books – what more could you want?
Near Amalienborg you can find Café Mormors, a kitchy retro place with lots of old stuff inside and fantastic food.

Hotel Chocolat

Hotel Chocolat


If you like Chocolate (and who doesn’t) Hotel Chocolat is the place to be. I had a salted caramal chocolate frappuccino and oh my was that amazing! Highly recommend it and everything else they sell seems delicious, too.

Shopping
Personally, I think shopping in Copenhagen wasn’t that amazing, but of course Disney Store (one of the few European ones) is a must. It’s 90% kids stuff, but it’s always cute and magical.
If you’re looking for camera stuff (like I did because I had the wrong charger with me), Photografica is the perfect shop. I highly recommend it, because the staff is so nice and competent.

Walks, Trips and Parks

Norrebro Graveyard  Copenhagen

Norrebro Graveyard


Personally I really like graveyards and Norrebro graveyard is both pretty big and pleasant. You can walk through it like a park and stroll towards H.C.Andersen’s grave as well.

Tivoli Copenhagen

Tivoli


Tivoli Copenhagen

Tivoli


Tivoli Copenhagen

Tivoli


Tivoli Copenhagen

Tivoli


One of my favourite things about the city was Tivoli. You can’t imagine my surprise! I thought it would just be an overpriced tourist-y place, but it was a wonderful park with lots of flowers and even though I did not go on a ride, if was great to have a look at the beautiful merry-go-rounds.

Fredriksberg Copenhagen

Fredriksberg


Fredriksberg Copenhagen

Fredriksberg


After having a walk through Vesterbro and Fredriksberg you reach castle Fredriksberg and the garden, a beautiful huge park with lots of flowers. After walking for a while you can have a snack at Café au Park, a real affordable place compared to most cafés in Copenhagen.

What did you like most about Copenhagen and how do you like the city in general?

Leave a Reply

