a place of my dreams | Teylers Museum in Haarlem

Haarlem Teylers Museum
Did you ever fall in love with a place? I did on various occassions, but I feel like this is my true place love (is this a thing? can we make it a thing?). When I arrived in Haarlem I already enjoyed it, it was pretty cold though so after walking around for a while I wanted to go to a museum. However, Teylers Museum was about 15 € and I was on the verge of searching for something else, but as I found out it was a naturalhistoric museum I wanted to go. Luckily for me I only had to pay 2 € due to my age, but looking back, for me it would have been worth any amount of money (with the Amsterdam Card it’s free!).

Haarlem

Haarlem, the white church (the same exists in black, too)


Haarlem itself is a lovely cute town, only about 10 minutes from Amsterdam, so a perfect day/half day trip. Personally I really recommend starting the day at Meneertje Pannekoek, even though I only had a Latte Macchiato. It’s very sunny during the morning and you have a beautiful view. Then you can walk through the town – there are tons of churches and two of them are exactly the same just in different colours!
Teylers museum Haarlem

Teylers Museum


Teylers Museum Haarlem

the inside


Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

Bones…


Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

and teeth


Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

Fossil Room


Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

all the fossils!


Of course, my favourite place to visit was Teylers Museum, it’s a place for both romantic art and science (yay!) with a big selection in both areas. There are even scientific instruments to be found and usually they have a big special exhibit as well. Besides fantastic artworks and fossils you can also enjoy the lovely architecture and design of the museum. I’m pretty sure Mr. Teyler and I are soulmates – at least when it comes to interest art and science, I’m not that aware of his political/personal beliefs as I write this. However, his museum (which was opened posthumous, because based on his will his collection was to be received by a soon-to-be museum) was the first public museum of the Netherlands, and to me that shows that he must have been at least a bit of a good person as well.
Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

Jurassic Park Realness


Teylers Museum Haarlem Fossil

Scientific Instruments


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

because why wouldn’t you need a heater while enjoying art? I pledge for heaters with chairs in front of them in every museum


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

Pieter Teyler van der Hulst


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

and who doen’t adore this beautiful room?


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

cats cats cats!


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

you can almost feel the cold


Teylers Museum Haarlem Romantic Art

part of the special exhibit


It is a small museum, when you compare it to the ones in bigger cities, but the selection is amazing and has a lot to offer. The atmosphere is great, it calmed me down a lot, because it’s not overcrowded. The café too is very lovely and has delicious caramel brownies. So if you have the time, I highly recommend spending some time in the lovely town and the museum.
Teylers Museum Haarlem café

café


Teylers Museum Haarlem café

delicious treats after art and fossils


Teylers Museum

one pretentious art aficionado

Leave a Reply

