you’re my candy girl

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

Can I just say this dress feels like a mix of a cupcake and a prom dress? It’s very much the embodiement of prom dress dreams. Well, I never had such dreams, because where I live neither prom nor homecoming is a thing and we don’t celebrate any balls – besides one after graduating our version of high school. And that is more like sitting around, waiting for the report you already saw a couple o’ days before and then some drinking and dancing. It doesn’t feel like something John Hughes would include in a movie. This dress however, Iona might have worn it (and Andie would have destroyed it to create a prom dress).

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

In the last couple of weeks I have been a lot into pastels, while mainly listening to Fall Out Boy (by the way, I actually like the new song, I think it’s very intense and will be very interesting live). Which kind of clashes, but I don’t mind, it amuses me in a way – looking like a fairy, but having some emo and alternative tunes playing. 27 and Thnks fr th Mmrs are constantly stuck in my head and especially with the first I can quote it almost completly, the sad thing is I want to use a lot of the lyrics in daily life, but, you know, translated no one gets the reference (and, of course, I also have one friend actually listening to the band as well).

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

Recently my mood has been pretty much a rollercoaster, I have had a lot of ups and downs for no particular reason and on no-so-good days, it always feels a bit weird to look at those happy Tinkerbell meets Goldilocks photos I took just a day or two ago. Additionally I have been dealing with a cold for about two or three weeks and that does not really make me feel any better. I am happy about the spring sun and flowers however, even though I do not always feel like leaving the house (being heavy on introversion and feeling ill is not the best combination). Especially with feeling unwell/ill I feel like I’m even more sensitive than usual, not only emotionally, but very intensely when it comes to visual impressions.

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

It’s hard to talk about feeling unhappy when you do not even know th reason for it yourself. And when it all might be forgotten the next day. I’m thinking it’s someting to do with hormones or neurotransmitters.
Besides that I also stumbled across and old (and unfortunately no longer active) blog of mine, the girl never gets older and felt like listening to some classic rock again and fell down the rabbit hole towards the 40s-60s as well. Also, funnily enough writing this I want to dress like a teddy girl, you know like in those Ken Russell photos. There is this photo, I have both a crush on this girl and want to lok like her. Maybe I’ll try a bit more teddy girl – but then again, I also want some french lady vibes, a bit of rock’n’roll and never forget the pastel fairy side.

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

fifties vintage 50s cupcake prom dress  pink girl tattoo

Photos are by the lovely goldhände, who posted today as well.

Dress – Vintage (Old Toch Stockholm) | Brooch – erstwilder (junebugs collection) | Socks – calzedonia | Shoes – Lindy Bop | Lipstick – catrice longlasting lippencil (in a plum tone I forgot the number/name) & wet’n’wild Mega Last Lip Color in 908C Sugar Plum Fairy & rituals eve’s kiss silky lip gloss

Leave a Reply

