Recent Reads ♥

Recently Read books
Since I was not at home a whole lot this month, I decided to show you what I’ve been reading recently in stead of the things I made. Actually I wanted to make this only about March & April, but since I only read two books in February, I included that one as well. Some are German, some are English, but I will talk about them in the order I read them and link the corresponding review on goodreads where I go into depth.

Recently Read Books
February
Leonie Swann – Dunkelsprung
goodreads
I grew up with Leonie Swann’s crime stories about sheep. They are beyond amazing and after the recommendation by my mum, I read it and enjoyed it. It’s very magical and beautiful, but a bit slow and I wasn’t that much into the characters.

G.E. Lessing – Die Juden
goodreads
Lessing is probably my favourite German write. He wrote this one before Nathan – the topic is somewhat similar – antisemitism – and what can I say? He is such an important writer for equality and not just to promote equal rights for jews and acccept them as a regular part of society, but also due to his interesting, elaborate female characters.

Recently Read Books
March
Halo Summer – Feuersang und Schattentraum
goodreads
I re-read the series last year and only had this one left. However, book six and seven are still on my to-read list. I like the series, it is such an easy read with a a lovely set of characters, it’s not that high quality as the Lunar Chronicles, but it is very enjoyable.

Malinda Lo – Ash
goodreads
I expected so so much from this book – a lesbian Cinderella? Yes, please. But obviously my expectations were too high and so I was disappointed to say the least. It was beautifully written, but not that intriguing – to be honest I do not remember a lot of the book by now, besides the fact that there were fairies.

Mary Shelley – Frankenstein
goodreads and review on the blog
I basically talk about this book all the freaking time. You talk to me for more then twenty minutes and I will try everything to force it on you. This book is probably the most beautifully written story ever, I love Mary Shelley’s writing to pieces and I also love Victor. I know, so many people love the monster (and I do too!), but Victor is just the most precious being ever. There is so much scientific curiosity and remorse, I literally want to hold him close forever.

Friedrich Dürrenmatt – Die Physiker
goodreads
Another great German writer. I saw a few of his plays in the past, but that is the very first one I read and it was fantastic – it’s fun and serious all the same. I think it has been translated in various languages and I recommend it to everyone. It says a lot about humanity and when science went to far (seems to be a theme here right, Mr Frankenstein?).

Gail Carson Levine – Ella Enchanted
goodreads
This one dieappointed me as well, I got it with Ash and the same thing happened – too high expectations. It is not a bad book or anything, but I think it was a bit to fast/easy for the heroine to get her fairy tale ending. Also – and that is such an unpopular opinion – I think the movie is better, esp. for people above 13 (not only for Hugh Dancy, but also because Ella is a lot more empowered, I’d say).

Rick Riordan – The Last Olympian
goodreads
Rick Riordan on the other hand does not disappoint and even though this was more fight than mythology driven, I still liked the conclusion to this series and really want to read the next one.

Recently Read
Astrid Lindgren – Immer dieser Michel
goodreads
Emil, well Michel in Germany, was part of my childhood, too and I enjoy his stories just as much nowadays. And to be honest, both the TV adaptations as well as the literary base is fantastic.

Alan Bradley – Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew’d
goodreads
Since the last book did not take place at Buckshaw, I was a bit sad, however, we are back in Buckshaw and Bishop’s Lacey. And it was glorious, there was rain and cats and murder and twists – everything I could ever want.

G.E. Lessing – Miss Sara Sampson
goodreads
I thought this was the last Lessing drama I was missing however there are two more (YAY!) and even though I do not enjoy his tragedies as much as his comedies, but I enjoy them no matter what. You know, interesting women and so on, if you want to get started with his work however, I’d recommend Minna von Barnhelm or Nathan.

Benjamin Woolley – The Bride of Science: Romance, Reason and Byron’s Daughter
goodreads
This one was disappointing, too, I did expect to learn a lot about Ada Lovelace, but it was more of a general book about the era, science and romance – and a whole lot of unnecessary information about people Ada met once and gossip. So, while it was written beautifully, if you want to know more on the topic of Ada, check her wikipedia page. Seriously.

Jane Austen – Northanger Abbey
goodreads
Jane Austen’s writing and wit are well known and of course also represented in this, her first and probably least popular work. I enjoyed it a lot, and even though Cath was very naive she was unexpectedly loveable. Also Henry might be my favourite love interest of JA’s, because he was so sarcastic and straight forward. No unnecessary issues because people don’t talk with this guy – though the love story seems highly unlikely, because he seems much to smart for her.

Terrance Dicks – Doctor Who and the Abominable Snowmen
goodreads
And adventure story, nothing more, nothing less. The writing was very monotonous, but the story was a fun, fast read.

Recently Read
April
E. A. Poe – Tell Tale Heart (Penguin Little Black Classics)
goodreads
Love these penguin little black classics, enjoyed the eerie and the writing, but not that much into Poe’s stories themselves. In a way his writing his bloodier than the stories, if you know what I mean. This book which I got at Waterstones in Amsterdam also started my (unintentional) month of classics.

Oscar Wilde – The Picture of Dorian Gray
goodreads
I am currently really interested in classics especially gory once and 19th century, and that one was on my list and kindle anyway. I loved The Importance of Being Earnest, but this could not impress me quite like it. While I enjoyed the writing, the story was lacking a bit in my opinion and there was quite a bit of sexism.

Arthur Conan Doyle – A Study in Scarlet
goodreads
Another kindle read (like all the classics this month) and I truly enjoyed Doyle’s writing. It’s to the point without being emotionally detached or hasty and Watson’s perspective is pleasant. The only downside for me was the long part in the desert/backstory of the murderer.

Jane Austen – Pride and Prejudice
goodreads
It has been about three years since I last read this book, and it is just one of these books that you re-read a lot, so I finally picked it up again and flew through it. It’s a pleasant, fast read with amazing characters and I really want to shine a light on the amazingness of Mr Bennet and Mary Bennet.

Ian Doescher – William Shakespeare’s Star Wars
goodreads
This was the only April read not from the 19th century, but at least in an Shakespearian style, so in a way, a classic. I really loved it, it was so fun and refreshing to read iconic Star Wars quotes in a iambic verse, I highly recommend that book. I got it in Stockholm, at SF Bokhandeln, so it’s a hardcover not a kindle book and I highly reommend this edition for the getup and illustrations.

Arthur Conan Doyle – The Sign of the Four
goodreads
Obviously I enjoyed the first Sherlock Holmes novel enought to read the next (and currently my third). It is just an easy read, with wonderful writing and I enjoyed it a bit more even than the first due to the shorter and more interesting backstory.

That’s it for now, I hope you could draw some inspiration from the books I read in the last three months and maybe tell me what you’re reading at the moment and what your favourite classic is.

Leave a Reply

