Cherry Blossom and Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

When I was in Amsterdam I met a close friend of mine and we spend a lovely sunny day in town. Amsterdam is a favourite city of mine because it’s so beautiful with all the water, flowers and lovely people. It’s very lively yet somewhat relaxing. Probably also because there are mear to no cars, that just makes things a hundred times more relaxed. I really love this whole bike and flowers culture.

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Of course, since I was there in the beginning of April there weren’t as many flowers but there where quite a few trees in blossom. And in a way I find that even more beautiful. Probably because trees are green all year round but in early spring they are beautifully coloured. Especially apple and cherry blossoms are such a lovely sight. Obviously the later always reminds me of Mulan one of my favourite Disney movies and princesses. The soundtrack alone is fantastic, but I also love all the dresses. Since I recently got heavily inspired by a Asian Sakura-esque aesthetic and so I wanted to create a dress that was inspired by kimonos. It is of course just vaguely referencing with the piping and the cut of the top, but I like it and in general the pastel pink is right up my alley currently.

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

However, to get back to Mulan, the pink dress for her does not respresent the same liberty in fashion and happiness mine conveys, but instead it’s very restricting as it is the one to present her to suitors. And that really is not something she wants at that very moment. I am told the second movie shows even more feminist motives, but I did not have the chance to watch that yet (very excited for the live action movie though). However I really like the original, it shows a girl with uncommon/unheard of ideas and plans, very headstrong and still a friendly, nice person. She also has some of the best sidekicks with Mushu and Cricket. Well, anyway, I think it is one of the Disney movies that are really fantastic, because they are so different, but are not appreciated enough. And it can be interpreted in so many ways, too! Well, I think we should all be a bit more daring like Mulan and I really love this face palm brooch that seems to be the perfect response to everyday-sexism.

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Amsterdam Kimono Cherry Blossom Mulan

Dress – handmade | Mulan Brooch – Ambrosia Bowl | Socks – calzedonia | Shoes – Tamaris | Lipstick – trend it up in 030

Leave a Reply

