Chocolate-ish Cookies

Chocolate Cookies
To start this of with a little confession, I have to admit I’m not much of a baker. I mean, I did make Cinnamon Rolls years ago and cut out cookies for Christmas, but other than that – not so much. However with watching the German Enie Backt (if you are not familiar with it, look it up and enjoy the pictures) I really wanted to give it a try again – and hopefully work on that during spring and summer. now, my first try at baking again in Fabruary, was quite sucessful so I want to share the recipe I came up with.

For about two sheets you need:

  • two eggs
  • 125g butter
  • 200g sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 250g wheaties (they are called Schoko Wheaties and made from Chocolate and wheat, shaped like little pillows)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp starch
  • 150 ml milk
  • 150 g flour

Chocolate Cookies

I had a look at various cookie/bisquit recipes, before working on my own, that had to include those Wheaties. Why? Because I have tons of this stuff at home and I really don’t like them as a classic breakfast cereal with milk. However I do not want to throw them out and I thought they might work well as bisquits – and they do. The bisquits are crunchy on the outside and soft-ish on the inside and tast quite good, so here is how I go.

Chocolate Cookies

Mix the eggs, butter and sugar until you get a creamy consistence, then add all the other dry componentsand the milk and mix it up again. It will be a bit too liquid to get a proper cookie, so add some flour. Here is the thing: If you add about 70-100 g of flour you can just spread the dough over the baking paper sheet and you get sort of a brownie. If you use more flour, you will actually get cookies. The dough is really sticky and I would recommend making smaller heaps, because they rise quite a bit. Bake them at 180°C two-sided heat for give or take 20 minutes and let them cool down to get crunchy.

Chocolate Cookies

I really hope you enjoy the cookie if you make them or maybe if you change them up. Don’t be shy, mix it up and overthrow the rules of baking!

Leave a Reply

