Day Trip: Augsburg

Augsburg
I think we often miss to appreciate where we live, the beauty that not only cities and countries far away harbour, but also those only a few minutes or an hour away. Augsburg is very close to where I live and I just love that city a lot, it’s so cute and beautiful. A lot of old buildings are still there and since the city developed due to textile production there are also some amazing fabric stores left, my favourite is the Augsburger Restehaus. Well, I just adore this lovely city and I love wandering around those tiny streets, especially since there aren’t a lot of cars.

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

The last time I have been to Augsburg was quite a while agon, but it was at least as lovely as I remembered it and I’m really glad I decided to go on this little city trip. It’ was a very spontaneus decision – I bought the train tickets the night before. It made me spend a lovely day (it was the second of March, about two weeks ago) since it was very sunny and I was successful at fabric (and vintage) shopping. However, that was not the only thing, I also found out that Augsburg had a great Natural History Museum (Naturmuseum), you probably would not find it, if you did not know it, but it’s so worth visiting. They have fossils, modells, crystalls, all that stuff. I mean, I want to stuff palaentology, so I had a lot of fun looking at all the bones – especially the teeth really got to me. And the moths (who would have guessed THAT?). So if you are in or near Augsburg, visit this fantastic museum.

Augsburg Bittersüß

Augsburg

Augsburg OOTD

Augsburg Cat

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

If you are looking for fabrics on the other hand, just walk through the small streets and along the Lech, I really like the Augsburger Restehaus, because they have lots and lots of fabric and really special novelty prints for that. But there are a lot of small little fabric stores with all sorts of textiles, so it’s probably the best city here to go to if you want to buy fabric.

Augsburg

Augsburg Bittersüß

Augsburg Bittersüß

Augsburg AR Augsburger Restehaus Fabric Stoff

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

This year I really want to try and travel not only to Scandinavia, but also to places near my home, just sit on the train for less than two hours and explore the beautiful landscape my home offers – sort of a project home, if you wish. Also, like visiting all the castels of Ludwig II with my best friend last year (see Neuschwanstein/Hohenschwangau, Herrenchiemsee).

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburger Puppenkiste

Augsburg

Augsburg

Augsburg

2 thoughts on “Day Trip: Augsburg

  1. Pingback: A few Spring Self Care Activities | teepüppchen

  2. Pingback: a few things to do in Malmö | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

