Happy Pastel Raptor

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Wednesday I had a lovely day with a dear friend of mine, we went to a café called White Rabbit and then to a place called Wir machen Cupcakes – where of course we ate Cupcakes. The assistant was so nice and we had a great chat about Vintage and handmade things. It was one of the first spring days, though this week in general was quite warm – warm enough for me to don bobby socks and hat at least – it was quite the Eliza Doolittle weather. I really missed wearing these things in the last couple of months. I mean, sure, I love colourful tights, but wearing socks is pretty nice as well, especially since I have a few new pairs of adorable shoes to pair them with. To me it was also time to overdo my blush a bit more (though I guess you see this more in person than in the photos) and wear my favourite little hat again. I love love love the Ferris Bueller Photos I took last year with this hat and I hope to wear it a lot this year, it goes so well with curls!

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Even though I was dressed in a pastel subdued kind of way, I still got a little self-conscious. I don’t really know what it is, maybe the whole Vintage inspired thing or just the hat, but even though I really love it, I still get a bit shy and nervous – after more than 2,5 years. But I am glad I did not stop dressing this way, because it makes me so very happy and I love the Fifties and Sixties (pastel) fashion – if I am to doubt anything I usually think of Iona from Pretty in Pink. I truly adore her, because she does her thing and wear whatever pleases her that day without caring about judgement.

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

It is not at all, that I get a lot of judgement/negative feedback, usually people are either slightly irritated (some eldery ladies & colourful hair…) or really nice, like the woman we met at the cupcake shop. And I think that is something we should all work on, being nice, complimenting each other instead of (girl) hate. Especially girl hate is unfortunately such a very common thing online and offline all the same. Being mean towards someone for pure superficialities is so sad and unnecessary. You do not have to get along with everyone, but acknowledging someone else’s beauty does not diminish your own. If at all, it makes you more beautiful.

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

For such a long time women were – and sometimes still are – put down solely for their gender (same goes for people who aren’t white, heterosexual, able-bodied) and their accomplishments are often forgotten, just think of Ada Lovelace or the women featured in Hidden Figures, I hope to collect information on a few of these women and maybe talk about them on the blog.

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

One of my fictional favourite science ladies is of course Ellie Sattler, she is such an amazing feminist role model, so smart and overall wonderful. Of course, since I love dinosaurs and fossils I had to get at least on of the Erstwilder dinosaurs, the Lone Raptor (I’m thinking about getting Cera, too) – which seems very fitting for me since I do indeed prefer being alone over most things – and since raptors usually hunt in groups and humans are usually found in groups, too … you get it, I’m sure. So, I kind of wear this dinosaur as a women of science badge, because I sure hope to be part of this group some day.

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder Cupcake

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder Cupcake

Happy Pastel Raptor Outfit Light Green Dinosaur Hat Curls Vintage 50s Handmade Erstwilder

Dress – handmade | Brooch – Lone Raptor by erstwilder | Hat – pepaloves | Socks – calzedonia | Shoes – tamaris (I guess they are from the autumn collection, because they were on sale when I got them, but they are so midcentury) | Lipstick – essence metal shock lipstick in 04 Pink Metallica

2 thoughts on “Happy Pastel Raptor

  1. Haaaach mal wieder ganz zauberhafte Bilder! Vor allem die Farben sind so schön – deine Haare, das Kleid und die Schuhe, dann noch die Tattoos, der Lippenstift… da passt echt alles! Ich frage mich ja schon manchmal, ob du auch in Deutschland lebst, denn die letzten war’s zwar warm, aber für schulterfrei…? :D Was trägst du denn normalerweise zu deinen süßen Kleidern? Oder läufst du echt so rum oO :D
    Liebe Grüße,
    yacurama

    Like

    • Aww, vielen lieben Dank. :)<3
      Ja, ich lebe in Deutschland, ich muss sagen ich bin recht unempfindlich und bei uns hatte es in der letzten Zeit so 13-19 Grad, da geht das schon. Allerdings habe ich normalerweise einen Cardigan oder einen Trenchcoat dabei. Sobald es aber ohne Jacke geht, dann gerne auch ganz ohne. ;) <3
      Liebe Grüße
      Kathi

      Like

Leave a Reply

