Ode to Romantic Art

Romantic Art

Various 19h cen artists

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Romantic Art

Johann Christian Reinhart

Romantic Art

Johann Christian Reinhart

If you follow my Instagram feed you probably know that I love going to the museum and especially the last couple of months were filled with trips to the museum. A lot of these trips were to the Neue Pinakothek in Munich which features 19th (and a bit 18th) century art. And I love that so much, that was what got me into romantic art altogether. When I first went there this year – it had been years I think since I went there last – I fell in love with Carl Rottmann’s scenic paintings. Of course, Caspar David Friedrich was known to me – I guess he is one of the most famous painters of that time as his art is really representive of the romantic tropes. And I love his work, it’s fantastic and impressive. As is the work of Johan Christian Clausen Dahl, Morgen nach einer Sturmnacht is probably one of the most intense paintings I saw so far. It’s dark and pure, the focus is on the power of nature, but what touches me are the details, the young man and his dog being desperate, the orange. I coud spend hours in front of this painting.

Romantic Art

Orginal architecture of the Carl Rottmann room

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Back to Carl Rottmann, his art is very present in Munich, as he was ordered to paint Greece scenic to have them displayed at the museum. And oppose to many other painters of his time he actually went to Greece and have a look at the landscape to portray it acurately. And while I have never been to Greece, I really feel like being at those historic places and that I want to go there. As someone who is very introverted (I’m over 90% introverted according to Myers Briggs) I need things that I can enjoy on my own when I’m exhausted from social interaction. And these artworks give my that opportunity.

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Romantic Art

Carl Rottmann

Romantic Art

Johan Christian Clausen Dahl

Romantic Art

Theo van Rysselberghe

When I look at these paintings I feel a certain sort of calming. A lot of things happens in these pictures with colours and details and the beauty of nature. I’m not much of a painter, I do some sketches and watercolours every once in a while, but I prefer enjoying other people’s work. The feeling these paintings give me are so intense yet calming, I think a lot about the details, technique and inspiration. That helps when I don’t feel too good and lifts me up. Usually I tend to think about a lot of things and when they boil up I cannot be around other people. It just is too much to bear, so I focus on other things instead, art is a great outlet for that. Especially landscapes of the 19th century are quite soothing when I’m anxious and uptight.

Romantic Art

Paul Signac

Romantic Art

Paul Signac

Romantic Art

Ludwig von Hofmann

Romantic Art

Alexander Koester

Top – yumi | Skirt – handmade | Tights – calzedonia Fashion Tights in Glitter Vinaccia/Argento | Shoes – old (? my mum bought them, but they don’t fit years and years ago) | Lipstick – hema moisturising lipstick in 13

Leave a Reply

