Dark Fairytale

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Fairytales are some of my favourite things – no matter if the original stories by the brothers Grimm or Hans Christan, retellings or movie adaptation. Therefore I am of course highly interested in all the gruesome parts of the stories. I love telling people about what actually happened to the feet of Cinderella’s sisters. They usually do not like that as much which of course does not keep me from sharing more terrible fairytale stories. In general, I like the dark parts of fairytales, most Disney villians for example are so elaborate and more interesting than thee princesses. Take Maleficent, not only in her feature film, but in Sleeping Beauty – she (and Flora, Fauna, Merriweather) is the only reason for me to watch the movie. I consider Aurora to be the embodiment of boredom, but then again she sleeps throughout most of the movie.

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Of course, while I enjoy Disney movies I do have some issues with them, especially from a feminist and empowered view. Don’t get me wrong, I do always consider the time the movies were produced in, but that can’t change the fact that I’m not the biggest Aurora and Cinderella girl. Especially when I think about the Life Action Cinderella movie, while I love the dresses and the general set up I feel like her character is so centered on her love interest. Also, she’s such a weak character, subjecting to her stepmother all the time. I don’t know, but that is so outdated and could have been handeled much better – after all there is Ella Enchanted which is a newish, amazing take on Cinderella (also, the prince in the movie is Hugh Dancy, so extra points for that). Anyway even back in the 70s Tři oříšky pro Popelku [Three Nuts/Gifts/Wishes for Cinderella] portrays the girl much more independent (and elaborate in general, the movie focuses on thee girl not the love story). I do not demand all princesses to be kick ass and super fierce (e.g. I love Snow White), but I just think the newer movies should feature girls also being happy on their own without finding true love. And then there are female villians – even though they are bad/evil – there is just much more to them, they know what they want and actually go for it without whining all the time.

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

As I mentioned, I have a special place in my heart for Maleficent, she is a fantastic character and the life action movie with Angelina Jolie added a whole level of depth to her. It’s also a beautifully dark movie. You know, a bit like Wicked is to Wizard of Oz. Anyway, I did not just want to whine about Disney princesses, I also wanted to mention my two faves, Merida and Mulan (better known as the two princesses with close to know merchandise). Both fight for what they think is right and that is not just getting married. But of course, fairytales are not just Disney and princess stories, they only make up such a small part. Most stories are wonderfully gloomy and what I find so interesting is that various magical creatures come up in a lot of different countries and yet each district has it’s own take on fairytales. Just recently I read a few Irish fairytales and most of them did end with a death or two.

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

I think it’s pretty interesting how fairytales and ghost stories nowadays are something considered for kids while most of them are pretty deep and dark including everything from death to destruction. They really do have a lot to offer. I mean, just take Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, which can be considered a fairytale, I’d say. In general fairytales show so many possibilities of human creativity. After all, fantasy is what connects all of them. Most of these stories while being based on real events (e.g. some parts of the fairytales the Brothers Grimm are actually common for the time) are painting a whole new world to enjoy.
Another whole world to enjoy is the blog of my lovely friend Thyra, she is such a kind, cute human being with a really fancy yet subdued way of dressing and I hope you check out her part of this collab She is also the one that took the pics. ♥

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dark Fairytale Outfit

Dress – handmade | Brooch – deer Arrow | Choker – schmuckrausch | Flower – handmade (found at a Vintage Fair) | Tights – kunert | Shoes – dollskill | Lipstick – hema Moisturising Lipstick in 11

One thought on “Dark Fairytale

  1. Pingback: Snow

Leave a Reply

