Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Christmas Time is my favourite time of the year. Even though it’s a really busy time, it’s a comfy kind of busy. Of course, not for everyone, but if you wait until December 23rd to get your things together, that’s kind of your problem. Well, now it’s Christmas Eve, so I guess, that’s that anyway. I hope you all have a great Christmas time. This year, advent was pretty long – as I’m told the longest it can be, actually. So, for me, that’s a plus. Still, I had to struggle finding Christmas movies on TV, I’m grateful for amazon prime and netflix, for sure. Christmas time without the Grinch or Christmas Vacation, is that even Christmas?

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes
had to include that, I think it’s kinda funny. Looks like someone noticed me doing something stupid.

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

I know Christmas Vacation by heart, it’s one of my favourite Christmas movies – and movies in general, to be honest. My whole family is obsessed with that movie, so no reference goes unnoticed. Especially the ones about the cat. But this movie has so many hilarious elements, you notice something new every time you watch it. Sure, it’s goofy and stupid, but it is also amazing. Besides that, there are also some non-Christmas-themed movies, that are Christmas movies for me, Sissi, for example, and Back to the Future, the entire triology on Christmas Eve. Not sure how that will work out this year (I write this post almost two weeks ahead), since I work until two p.m., want to meet a friend and go to church, so yeah. Maybe part one.

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Also, in Germany, fairy tales are immensly popular around Christmas time. But those really close to Grimm’s/Anderson’s stories, they are beautiful and not as kitchy as Disney movies (don’t get me wrong, Disney movies are great for Christmas time, 101 Dalmatians and Beauty and the Beast…). In the days after Christmas – you know, when you enjoy the tranquil time, the presents and visit you family – Emil of Lönneberga (he’s is Michael in German, but oh well) and Pippi Longstocking are on TV and it’s such a nostalgic thing to watch, because I remember seeing myself playing Cats for Nintendo DS and watching those movies on the 26th about 10 years ago. And the stories are so joyful, they are indeed a reason, why I want to visit Sweden in 2017 (how scary to write those numbers). If you need more movie recommendations, check out last year’s post. Now, I hope you have a wonderful Christmas Eve and beautiful, calm holidays and if you do not celebrate Christmas, Happy Chanukah or just enjoy the calm days with a hot cup of tea and some good movies and books. ♥

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Candy Canes and Gnomes

Dress – handmade | Candy Cane Brooch – gift by my best friend | Deer Brooch – Deer Arrow | Tights – calzedonia | Shoes – Miss L Fire | Coat – HellBunny | Lipstick – trend it up in 080 (matte)

Leave a Reply

