Nutcrackers

nutcracker

nutcracker

nutcracker

A few years ago I saw the ballet of the nutcracker, it was somewhat modern and really cool, they had beautiful costumes. The movie about the nutcracker is pretty sad, to be honest. With the boy being turned into a nutcracker and all. But what I mainly associate with nutcrackers is the story of When Santa Fell to Earth by Cornelia Funke (Als der Weihnachtsmann vom Himmel fiel).

nutcracker

nutcracker

nutcracker

nutcracker

They are of course the bad guys, which seems kind of fitting for stiff wooden figures. Still, in that print I really like them, they are somewhat cute, I think and the colours are so beautiful. They work well the the snow. Well, it’s not really snow, but more like frost-covered due to it being cold at night and in the morning. I think, there was a total amount of two snow days this winter so far. But, there is an upside to that – I don’t have to redo my hair all the time. That’s also an advantage of being a nutcracker, their appearance doesn’t ever change. I have no idea where I’m going with this metaphor, but I was thinking about nutcrackers.

nutcracker

nutcracker

nutcracker

Well, Christmas is almost upon us and I’m really looking forward to it. All the lights, movies and hopefully snow. At my job I’m kind of the Christmas elf, since I’m the one to wrap all the presents it feels like I’m one of Santa’s entourage. I mean sure, it is somewhat monotonous, but it’s an enjoyable job, because it makes other people happy, saves them a little time and it’s like I’m part of the gift giving process as well. The gifts I wrap, will be unwrapped by kids and make them incredibly happy or by grownups and make them feel like kids again. It’s a lovely work, because it truly is so christmas-sy like being an elf (of course one that gets payed in euros instead of bisquits and cream).

nutcracker

nutcracker

Cardigan – banned Dancing Days | Skirt – handmade | Tights – calzedonia | Deer Brooch – deer Arrow (last christmas season) | Shoes – spicy | Lipstick – trend it up in 080 matte

2 thoughts on “Nutcrackers

Leave a Reply

