Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Over the years my preferred decade changed a lot, sure the fifties and sixities will always have a great part of my heart, but at the moment I have a lot of love in my heart for the twenties. I wore a handmade twenties inspired gown for prom (still have to take some photos of that dress), but it’s rather difficult for me to make twenties dresses like I do fifties. Mainly for all the beautiful beads and sequins.

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Sure, if I find beautiful lace, that’s a whole different thing, though often pretty expensive. On the other hand you don’t need as much fabric as for a swing dress and the pattern is really easy to create. I guess that’s also why the fabrics are so lavish. Well, I don’t find those where I shop and I’m a little too lazy – but maybe one day…

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

So, instead of a fantastic glitter fabric or a fringe dress, I went for a Marlene Dietrich inspired look – or something a 1920s Mary Poppis might wear. In case you wonder, the beautiful brooch says Practically perfect in every way. Anyway, I totally feel inspired by Marlene this autumn. She’s a really interesting person and her taste in clothing is amazing. I mean, for me she’s the woman to wear trousers and I really love the suspenders. She had just that great confidence with whatever she wore (and she did actually look amazing). So I hope, when my bestie and I went to Nymphenburg about a month ago, I did her justice. At least I felt pretty good about that Marlene inspired look with a little Mary Poppins twist.

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Marlene and Mary

Blouse – Cult&Co | Trousers – Collectif (old, but they always have amazing ones) | Brooch – FemmeDeBloom (currently unavailable, but that’s the shop) | Hat – Gift from a dear friend | Shoes – Deichmann | Lipstick – besame cosmetics red

One thought on “Marlene and Mary

  1. Pingback: Looking Back on 2016 ♥ | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

