John Hughes Vibes

80s Girls

80s Girls

80s Girls

You know how some people say they were born in the wrong time? I don’t think I would actually like to like to live in the fifties or sixties even though most of my dressed match the era – of course, the late sixities woud be really interesting, but the misogyny in the 50s – no thank you. And the more I think about that – as a girl in that time I would probably have accepted that. Sure, rock’n’roll kids were rebellious and wanted change, but the feminist movement wasn’t exactly a top priority. Also post-war/cold war time does not exactly sound appealing. But political reasons aside, the later you live the more things happened fashion vise and the more things are there for you to get inspired by. Especially with the internet to help you research (and order all the things).

80s Girls

80s Girls

80s Girls

I found that fabric in New York after I found the amazing shoes in Prague and I just love how they go together and especially with that wall – I think that really has an eighties vibe. At first I was a bit unhappy because the fabric lost a bit of it’s metallic fabric, but now it looks quite vintage. Well, I guess it might very well be as the store did seem to exsist for quite some time. And with the wonderful denim jacket that my mum once got in the US and the lightsaber I think I actually have those 80s things assembled.

80s Girls

80s Girls

80s Girls

Fashion changed so much and so many interesting things happened that we can combine now and as for the internet a lot of people share their knowledge on what was worn when and how to achieve a certain hairstyle. And I love how people work together and help each other with that. In general the pinup community is all for body positivity and helping each other – of course their is some hate and envy, but mainly ther is not. And I wish we could all be a bit more like that – helping and supporting each other.

80s Girls

80s Girls

80s Girls

But back to past decades, the only time I would actually like to live in are the 80s – as much as I have gathered th fashion was interesting and people tried a lot of things – revival of the fifties and sixties – I mean just look at all the movies that are set in that time. But then again, eighties movies are everything anyway. I would love to live in a John Hughes movie, Ferris, yes please. I so want him to be my best friend, how much fun would that be? Though living in the world of Pretty in Pink (Iona is a great fashion icon!) or Breakfast Club sounds wonderful as well. John Hughes really knows how to create an interesting world and characters (though Blane is such an idiot). And even though I might be dressed more appopriately for Pretty Woman, I think Iona would approve as well. Of course a main topic of his movies is romance, but there is so much more – thoughts about life and how it will go on after high school, how important it is to stop and enjoy, everything. Really, most characters are so interesting, I bet you would have great conversations with them. I mean, I never was a rebellious teenager (tbh my three day punk phase was rather pathetic :D ), but with these movies you get a lot of support and inspiration to try new things and be yourself. And you would get awesome fashion advise, too.
(We took the pictures on the 1st of October when it still was quite warm outside)

80s Girls

80s Girls

Dress – handmade | Denim Jacket – vintage from my mum (or woolrich) | Lightsaber Necklace – femmedebloom (mine is purple, this one is pink) | Shoes – Balada (I got them in Prague and they were pretty cheap, so I don’t think they are an actual brand) | lipstick – wet’n’wild in mauve outta here

One thought on “John Hughes Vibes

  1. Pingback: my favourite 80s movies | Fangirl Friday | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

