hair talk

hair talk
I wanted to write this post for about a year, basically since I had my pixie cut. Still, somehow I did not write that post, only sad little segments, but today I finally decided it was time to write this post. I included a few funnypictures of my hair during the years, colour, cut, everything. I guess now is a good time because I just recently coloured my hair (how I did it and what I used will be explained down below). This is also the first time you will see some pre-blog pictures of me, though I only have two here on the notebook, I included both of them – and please bare with terrible eyebrows! ;)

hair talk
During the years I had all sorts of hairstyles, colours and routines. In fifth grade I choped my hip-length hair off, first shoulder length, than everything-5-cms-length (I looked like a hamster and it was not flattering, especially when growing out). Actually I always wanted curls, preferably red ones (Merida curls, to be accurate) – as a kid I did have blond curls, but growing up, cutting my hair – the curls faded and left sad waves.
I think the best hairstory I can tell is one when I was in kindergarten (or maybe first/second grade). It was carnival time and my best friend, his brother and I ate crullers (we call them “Krapfen” and they are basically doughnuts without a whole but instead filled with yam, chocolate cream etc.) filled with apricot jam. Yeah, I still remember which jam. Awkward as always, I somehow managed to get jam in my hair. And I didn’t want to tell my mum, so I just took a pair of scissors and cut of the jam-part of my hair. Of course, my mum didn’t realise my new fringe at all. In a way I feel like I might sstil do that today and only later realise how much more obvious that is. Of course, we had to go to the hair dresser and fix my terrible little experiment eventually.

hair talk
hair talk hair talk
hair talk
A few years forward. My hair was growing and growing to a length below my boobs or about my waist, I don’t know anymore – I finally decided it was time for real red hair. I’ve had a few semi-permanent hair colours before, but that, now, was when I really wanted something new (here is the german post). So, I got myself red elumen and let my mum do the work. It was amazing red Ariel hair! I stuck with this for quite some time until I let it grow out and had terrible roots, thinking for some time I would go back to my natural hair colour. In general I was inspired by Doris Day with the a-bit-longer-than-chin length and fringe, but growing out it was more like Chuck Charles (my all time favourite fashion icon). Yes, I always had a fringe or was growing one out.

hair talk
hair talk

As we all know, I did not – I got into pin up (some styles seen above with redish hair) and dyed my hair dark brown and ended up with a fringe. Some days, now, I still long for those shiny brown curls. These pictures are some of my favourite hair pictures of mine. I was able to do quite a few retro hairstyle and I loved it.

hair talk
hair talk
But, of course, I got bored after a while, I cannot stick with one hair thing forever, I wanted my hair to be short again. Obviously without looking like a hamster. At this time I was into Once Upon A Time a lot, and I loved Ginnifer Goodwin as Mary Margaret, so the obvious thing to do was cutting my hair like that – after all it was drk brown already. I still remember having it done on the last day of school (11th grade), I still really like those photos, but I also remember all the trouble I had with the fringe.
During this time I found so many ispirational women with pixie cuts and it was so wonderful to see how they styled it and the self-esteem boost it really does give you. Seriously, if you dare to, try it, it’s weird some days and especially in the beginning, but so wonderful as well. Naturally my main inspiration was Ginnifer, but also Audrey Hepburn and this girl (though I’m too goofy and sarastic to appear like a magical fairy princess), but also Felicia Day, even though she did not have her pixie anymore by then, but she shared this article once.

hair talk

hair talk
hair talk
Then, from mid of Novemeber on, I had this red, sometimes pinkish, hair, that turned purple in February. Eventually I did not wear my fringe side-swept anymore, the hair colour looked really dirty some days and very beautiful and purple on other days, but I always had violett eybrows as well and I just love matching my brows to my hair. To cope with the growing out, I watched a lot of videos, I will link down below, but actually I mainly wore a pompadour when I did not want to wash my hair yet, a faux beehive once or twice and some space buns until I got into curls again.
If you want to grow out a pixie, have a look at this or this.

hair talk
hair talk
So, without any cut at all, I just dealt with the former pixie cut and wore it as pink/purple curls.

hair talk

hair talk
hair talk

hair talk
Not able to stick with anything at all, I needed some change again and being the professinal fangirl that I am, I drew my inspiration from fictional characters once more. This time, Ms Phryne Fisher and Mia Wallace as well as Iona from Pretty in Pink (she’s everything, I love her versatility fashion-vise). So the decision was made and I got a white-blonde 20s bob. I was lucky and my hair was not terribly dry or anything. I guess, my hair is just very strong. Or something like that… Anyway, that was so much fun, but just planned as the base for colours, but I stuck with it for almost three months and I guess I will have some blonde bob weeks in the future, too. As with the pixie cut, I wanted a real statement hair cut, something that is always the same, but in a good way. I have no problem with long hair, I think it looks beautiful on some people, but I think if you’re not into updos and hair styles or colours in general it’s plain boring. And even though I love both coours and styles, I wanted a cut that would be the same every day in a way. Like characters in movies who always have the same hair style (Mia Wallace, Phryne Fisher…), back with the white hair and red lips someone even said I’d look iconic and you know, in a way that’s wat I strive for. I don’t want to be an icon or something like that, but having an iconic look – even though it changed from time to time and isn’t always the same – just like Iona. And here is an interesting post about women who cut their hair short in the 20s.

hair talk

So I decided it was time for some colour again. I loved the blonde A LOT, but I was missing colour and I was planning this for months. Of course my half-half inspiration is @littlebodybigheart 💕 And up until now I did not know that orange hair was what was missing in my life. 😍 Used Flamingo Pink and Mandarin. I think the orange side looks like Leeloo from The 5th Element, so now I finally have to watch the movie! Tomorrow I will meet one of my oldest and dearest friends again, so happy now. 💞 #ootdsocialclub #ootd #whatiwore #pinupgirl #handmade #pinkhair #orangehair #pinkhairdontcare #newhair #directions #dırectionshaircolour #halfandhalf #redlips #melaniemartinezhair #20sbob #doyoulikemyvintagebob #50s

A post shared by kathi organa sattler 🐝 (@teepueppchen) on

hair talk
So, as I mentioned I wanted to colour my hair when I got it bleached and I already had my colours in mind, I wanted a half and half like Melanie Martinez, but orange and pink. I used Directions (as I usually do), the orange is Mandarin and the pink Flamingo Pink. If I stick with it, I might post a colouring/maintenance routine one day and talk about how the colours fade. N ow they are very bright and look a whole lot like text markers! I’m especially loving the orange, so beautiful and the colours work great with my eyes. Actually, orange was never really on my hair colour agenda, sure, I follow some girls with amazing orange hair on Instagram, but I was never really feeling the need to have orange hair and now with one half orange, I really want a whole orange look (like in the 5th element which I still haven’t seen yet!), but I’m also craving peachy hair. For now, I will stick with that for at least three weeks when I get my roots touched up. While I had Flamingo Pink before (on top of red and blue, so it was purple), I have no idea how long it will take the orange to wash out. I hope it will barely fade though!
I’m incredibly happy with my hair cut and colour and I’m so excited to wear flowers again and see what will come up next for my hair.

What is your current hair colour and what is your dream colour? With so many possibilities out there, why don’t you give it a try?

3 thoughts on “hair talk

  1. I wish I was this courageous with my hair! Any hairstyle seems to look great on you, the pixie, the bob, the long hair! I pretty much stick to two styles: straight or wavy. And in my job, dealing with customers, I cannot change my colour into something fancy (like blue or pink again). Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: colourful hair guide | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

