Sherlock – The Abominable Bride | Fangirl Friday

Last Monday The Abominable Bride finally aired in Germany. As always it took an eternity to air the special here, I mean, it’s pretty logical to air a Christmas Special around Easter. Anyway, here are my impressions of this great special.

Setting the special in the Victorian Era made me even more excited, mainly because of the fashion, to be honest. And I wasn’t disappointed, he bride’s dress alone was wonderful (Emilia Ricoletti’s makeup reminded me of the Joker, though, but that’s not a bad thing), but Mary’s Victorian outfit at the end of the episode was beautiful. I really envy her for that. In general, after that episode I liked her a lot more than before (I had a few issues with her before). Also, I was really fond of the inclusion of feminism and the suffragette movement. Victorian Sherlock himself was incredibly feminist – and I sure did not expect that, but than again it’s quite rational to make him think so. I read, that this was actually a quote from the original books (don’t know how close they stayed to the quote, but that’s wonderful nevertheless).

Every great cause has martyrs. Every war has suicide missions and make no mistake, this is war. One half of the human race at war with the other. The invisible army hovering at our elbow, tending to our homes, raising our children. Ignored, patronised, disregarded. Not allowed so much as a vote. But an army nonetheless, ready to rise up in the best of causes. To put right an injustice as old as humanity itself. So you see, Watson, Mycroft was right. This is a war we must lose.

The Votes For Women movement was very present in the episode, especially in the second half – Molly’s apperaence was quite interesting as well, it was a nice touch to make her disguise (dress as a man) to be able work, as it really was an issue. Molly was much more of a strong character in this episode and I wish she was more like this in the “real” show.
The only important women I would have wished to have an apperance (but didn’t have one) was Irene Adler. She’s my favourite female Sherlock character and she did not have a real scene at all.

The Abomniable Bride

Miss me?

Hell, yes, I missed Moriarty. We all know [as mentioned here] that Moriarty is my favourite villian, I might even prefer him over Loki (but then again, Loki is misunderstood, not really a villian ;)). I simply loved him in The Reichenbach Fall, but, oh my, was Andrew Scott amazing in this special. His facial expression alone is everything, but his role, acts and words added even more depth. I wish he would/will appear in the upcoming season.

Well, Sherlock characters are all very well developed and Mrs Hudson and Jane were quite witty. And Martin Freeman as Watson was wonderful as always. But now, to the story, it had this two levels Inception-like feeling throughout the whole episode, which I really enjoyed (Inception was my favourite movie for a few years). Everything about it was so well made and the picture, so freaking beautiful. As I said before women’s rights are quite relevant and the intertwining with the case was fantastic. As soon as I own the DVD/the episode is on Netflix I will just watch The Abominable Bride over and over again – it’s up there with The Reichbach Fall, maybe even above.

Did you watch the special? Did it appeal to you?

Leave a Reply

