The Disney Tag | Fangirl Friday

Initially I didn’t plan to post something today. Due to my rather stressful school life at the moment (8 tests in two weeks…) I did not manage to go to the cinema and all the fangirl friday posts I want to the in the future are in need of one thing or another. So, I was quite delighted, when I saw Hello Batty post the Disney Tag. Since I have not been to any Disney park yet, I did not include those questions (but added another one instead) and I don’t include Star Wars, Marvel and other franchises that belong to Disney. So, only “real” Disney and Pixar movies.

The Disney Tag

A scene in any Disney movie you wish you could experience.

If I had a cat, I would reenact the scene of The Lion King, where Simba is hold to the sun and they do this chant. But, I’d love to experience Alice’s adventures, of course, and I’d like to eat at Rémy’s restaurant. And I’d love to watch the “show” of Be Our Guest.

What non-Disney song(s) reminds you/brings back memories of Disney?

In general Phil Collins songs, probably because are lot of the 90s/early 2000s Disney songs are by him. But I also consider I Do Adore by Mindy Gledhill quite Disney-ish.

If you could choose any Disney character to be your best friend, who would you choose?

Oh, that’s difficult, because I want a lot of characters to be my best friend. Timon and Pumba, obviously, Alice, the Cheshire Cat (rather the ones that aappear in Tim Burton’s Alice), Merida, Mushu. Ariel’s friends are all pretty cool as well, I even like Ursula – and of course Donald and Chip and Dale would be fun to have around. but if I had to settle for one, I’d choose Timon. Or the Cheshire Cat.

The Disney Tag
Who are you favourite Disney princesses?

Kuzko. Hehe. If we go by the official Disney princesses, I’d choose Merida, because she’s strong and empathic and doesn’t need a prince to save her. I also think Tiana is a wonderful, hardworking princess. The other princesses are fine, especially Snow White is just lovey, but I really don’t like Aurora, I don’t think she has any personality at all – I mean she sleeps most of the movie.

Name a scene/moment in any Disney movie that never fails to make you cry.

Bambi when the mother is shot. Always. And the end of Mary Poppins. But I generally cry at a lot of sad scenes.

What is the first Disney movie you remember seeing?

I guess, it’s The Lion King, I know we have The Lion King, Aladdin and a few Ducktales stories on VHS, so I guess it’s one of them, but Lion King seems most likely.

What is your favourite Disney movie?

Opposed to a lot of fans of the Alice-books, I really enjoyed the movies. I think both the old and the new one are wonderful and convey the feeling of Carroll’s story. Of course, they are not exact, but I like them nevertheless, Tim Burton and Lewis Carroll are a perfect combination in my opinion and I’m very excited for the second movie (though Burton only produced it). I really like Merida for the message that a girl does not need a man to save her (and the great story). The drawing style, music and story of One Hundred and One Dalmatians is pretty amazing. Then, of course The Lion King, but I think my favourite favourite Disney movie is The Emperor’s New Groove, that movie is so sarcastic and fun, it’s beyond perfect.

The Disney Tag
Who is your favourite Disney villain?

Yzma is amazing, the scenes with Kronk are very hilarious. And just everything about her is fabulous. But I also think Ursula is a great villian, very sassy and I love her being a octopus. I somewhat like Cruella, I mean, I’m a vegetarian, so I have a problem with her killing puppies, but I still like her in a way – red, white and black are great colours. So, of course I also like the queen of hearts, especially in the Tim Burton movie, because I love Helena Bonham Carter, the hair/makeup/costume, the personality. I just love her. Maleficent is another favourite of mine, I liked her in Sleeping Beauty (but I then again I don’t like Aurora), but after watching Maleficent I just adored her. Her story is sad, but her behaviour understandable, though it makes her more of an anti-hero and less of a villian.

Who is your Disney crush?

The Other Prince (Into the Woods) is adorable, but I also like Flynn (Tangled) and Jane (Tarzan), especially her outfits. I also really like Mia Wasikowska as Alice, as I said her facial expressions and her character, just lovely.

Who would you love to spend a day with?

Besides the obvious (Merida, Alice), I think Tinkerbell would be a lot of fun to be around. She experiences a lot of stuff and creates all the time, so that must be fun. I think both the witch in Brave and the one in Kiss the Frog are pretty darn amazing and you’d have a lot of fun during the day.

What is your least favourite Disney movie?

I’m not a fan of Sleeping Beauty (though I love the fairys and Maleficent), because her story is somewhat boring in my opinion.

What is your favourite Disney song?

I love the soundtrack of The Lion King – who doesn’t? And the Tarzan soundtrack is great as well, not only due to Phil Collins, but also because it reminds me of my time spent in Italy during a school exchange. Certain songs I like are Be Our Guest, Rotten to the Core (Disney Descendants, Kristin Chenoweth was fantastic in that movie!), Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, I Wanna Be Like You, and one of my absolute favourites is You’ve got a Friend in me, especially the Michael Bublé version.

The Disney Tag
What Disney Character (s) has your personality or has your dream personality?

Those tests mainly say it’s Alice (which makes me glad), and I think her being curious, sassy/bold and her crying because she isn’t able to manage a situation in the old movie is quite close to things I (would) do and I just adore her strength in the new movie and Mia Wasikowska’s facial expressions are stuck in my mind. On some days, I have similarities to Kuzco, not quite as egomanic, but cynical for sure. And I’d love to be as strong and independent as Merida is (though I can’t relate to the horseback riding).

If you could change any scene in a Disney movie, what would it be and why?

I know this is kind of cruel, but in the original tale of Cinderella the sister cut of parts of her feet and I would have liked to have that in the movie (I get why they did not include it, but still…)

I think I forgot to many movies, so I want two honorary mentions of movies, I did not watch in a long time (therefore did not mention) and have to watch again. Brother Bear and Robin Hood are both wonderful as far as I remember. And I’d love to have a Red Riding Hodd movie and a style like Merida, with a strong girl.

Also, I want to mention, that I’m quite aware of the controversy around Disney. I think there still is a lot of racism, of course, there are a few non-white princesses and they mainly use European fairytales, but nevertheless they mainly focus on the beautiful white girl. So, there is a lot of sexism, “you need a man”-thoughts (Merida after all is Pixar) and as I said the beauty ideal is almost always present. A movie featuring a LGBTQ princess (or prince for that matter) would be wonderful and desireable and I think Disney is such a huge company, it might actually have an impact on people – and it would be a great sign no matter what. I also watched a documantary about Walt Disney (approx. 4 hours) and it showed a lot of the critical sides of his behaviour as well as his ambition and innovation. While I like and enjoy a lot of the movies, I think you have to sight Disney nuanced.

2 thoughts on “The Disney Tag | Fangirl Friday

Leave a Reply

