Internal Crisis

Just putting a little disclaimer before writing this: I’ve had kind of an internal breakdown (basically about nothing of real importance) yesterday. So, it’s me complaining about rather unimportant stuff. I’m just better at writing this down than talking to people. Also, somehow my thoughts are mainly in English recently, so… I had these thoughts when lying in bed last night, starring at the ceiling (of course, I thought about it before, but it was very intense yesterday).

I have this enormous problem with indecision. At the moment there are two things – objectively they are of very different importance for my life, but to me they are both pretty important. There are things I’m pretty sure. I stay at home too much. I don’t do enough sports. I have too many interests to spend time doing all of them. I’m bisexual. When I know there’ll be a stressful situation, I’ll have a breakdown weeks or months before the stressful time.
Of these things I’m sure. Let’s start with the very clicheé drama probem, I have: I think about letting my hair grow to get a bob with a fringe – a little shorter than Iona in Pretty in Pink or Uma Thurman in Pulp Fiction. I’m very happy with my current colour (a violet of sort, you can see it on Instagram) Then, I see a pixie cut picture again and I don’t want to anymore. Then, I see a bob picture, and I do. Yes, I thought about wigs, but I want to colour the bob regularly, so that’s no really an option. Will be thinking about this for the next couple of weeks. And talking about pixiecuts: I’ve been featured on this lovely website. ♥

Now, to the other issue. I think, I already mentioned I wanted to become a tailor. Now, I’m not so sure anymore, for a few reasons. One: I’m afraid I’ll loose my passion for sewing when doing it on a professional level (and therefore not being free). Two: I called two companies and the both of them won’t be having apprentices in autumn (one of them I had called two months back and they said I should call again in spring, now they told me they didn’t have any open positions.) So, I was pretty bumped. I might have to add, that I easily get self-conscious and feel like things won’t work out at all. Three: I would only like to work at a theater (or in the film industry, but most German movies and their wardrobes aren’t even close to my taste) later on OR have my own shop. Well, I don’t think the chances are high. And four: In my mind there are a few more ideas what job I want to have (besides tailor and I had them just as long):

  • Librarian
  • Archaeologist
  • something in a lab and having a PhD (chemistry, biology etc.), I’d also love something like physics, but I’m not exactly good at physics
  • something with history, preferrably Egyptology
  • something with literature (but i wouldn’t want to be a critic or a journalist, so…)

And I thought, maybe, if I went to university, studying any of the things listed above, I could sew as well. Work on my cloths, maybe have a(n etsy) shop. And create cosplay outfits – so I would be able to sew Grease outfits no matter what. It would depend whether I worked at a theater or not.
The thing is, I like too many things, I have a huge spread of interests and I don’t like getting stuck in the same thing for years (thus, no office job) – I want to test things, explore, help, learn.
And this is basically it, everything I wanted to write – I don’t even care if anyone reads this, I just had to type it. But, if you read it and you have a decision problem yourself, I really hope it will work out for you and everything will be wonderful for you.

13 thoughts on “Internal Crisis

  1. Ich lese nicht so deutlich heraus, dass Schneider in Dein einziger Herzenswunsch ist. Als ich so alt war wie Du, träumte ich davon Köchin oder Floristin zu werden. Gleichzeitig hatte ich wie Du einen großen Drang zu lernen und war genauso vielseitig interessiert. Ich habe studiert und promoviert, arbeite in einem forschungsnahen Job und habe diese Entscheidungen nie bereut. Ich koche gerne und binde auch gerne Blumen aber ich bin heil froh, dass ich diese Dinge nicht zu meinem Beruf gemacht habe. Das ist natürlich nur meine nicht verallgemeinerbare Erfahrung aber ich wollte sie der Ausgewogenheit wegen auch aufschreiben.
    Ansonsten: ich finde dass Du eine ganz bewundernswert starke und eigenständige junge Frau bist und ich bin mir sicher, dass Du gute Entscheidungen treffen wirst ( und in den allermeisten Fällen lassen sich die auch revidieren)
    Alles Liebe für Dich

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vielen Dank für die Antwort, war sehr inspirierend zu lesen.
      Ja, das denke ich eben auch, diese Dinge kann ich ja wunderbar nebenher tun und ich habe wie gesagt auch etwas bedenken, dass ich sie in einem professionellen Umfeld u.U. nicht mehr so genießen würde. Andere Berufswünsche kann ich dagegen nicht einfach so als Hobby nebenher betreiben. (;
      Wirklich, vielen lieben Dank Dir. ♥
      Liebe Grüße und alles Gute auch für Dich.

      Like

  2. Did you think about selling your clothes on Etsy for example?
    I understadn you struggle with all this problems. I know post is not new but I wanted to read it. Abotu hair..it’s me all the time:D

    Like

  3. Oh, man muss nicht gut in Physik sein, um Physik zu studieren! Ich spreche da aus Erfahrung, ich studiere dieses Fach, obwohl ich in der Schule wirklich nicht gut in Mathe war. Das Gute: Du lernst im Studium, worauf es ankommt und spätestens nach einem Jahr weißt Du, ob Du die richtige Entscheidung getroffen hast, oder ob es doch nichts für Dich ist. Dann kannst Du immer noch eine andere Alternative wählen ;)
    Sowieso ist es immer gut, Plan B und C und D zu haben :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wirklich? Das ist ja interessant. Wie gesagt, Naturwissenschaften würden mich schon sehr reizen, aber ich schwanke noch. Mal sehen, wofür ich mich letztendlich entscheide.
      Danke dir für die Antwort!
      Liebe Grüße

      Like

  4. Liebe Kathi,
    ich glaube es ist vollkommen normal, dass man sich diese Gedanken bezüglich Studium und Ausbildung macht, zumindest ging es fast allen meinen Freunden so. Ich hatte das große Glück, schon in der zweiten Klasse zu wissen, was ich später mal machen möchte – und jetzt mit nicht mal 30 häng ich das Ganze an den Nagel. :D
    Die ganzen beruflichen Möglichkeiten, die wir heute haben sind zwar ganz wunderbar, führen aber leider auch dazu, dass viele junge Leute sich unter Druck gesetzt fühlen und meinen, den absoluten Traumjob finden zu müssen.
    Ich glaub es ist dabei wirklich wichtig zum einen dazu zu stehen, was man tut und zum anderen flexibel zu sein. Probier eine Idee aus und wenn es so gar nicht das ist, was du dir vorgestellt hast, dann mach etwas anderes. :)
    Liebe Grüße!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Danke dir, Irma. (:
      Das stimmt, es gibt so viele Möglichkeiten, das macht es schon irgendwo schwerer, aber ist gleichzeitig ja auch schön – schöner als von den Eltern vorgegeben zu haben die Bäckerei (o.Ä.) übernehmen zu müssen.
      Ja, so werde ich es wohl auch machen. Durch das G8 sind wir ja ohnehin jünger, und ich dadurch, dass ich mit fünf eingeschaltet wurde nochmal.
      Liebe Grüße

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: cottoncandyheart | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

