Liz Lemon is my spirit animal | The brooch and the story.

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

If you know 30 Rock, you might have figured, that Liz isn’t exactly my fashion-icon. But, as usually, you don’t love people for what they wear, but what they are. I first watched 30 Rock some years ago, while waiting for a new How I met your mother season, I discovered 30 Rock at the library and decided on giving it a go. After all, it sounded funny and it is. To me, at least; friends of mine don’t get the humor and as Tina Fey writes in her book Bossypants neither do most people (the show wasn’t as successful even though it recieved Emmys). I loved it, the show is quite crazy and I think if you don’t connect to Liz, I guess it doesn’t work. Of course, there is Alec Baldwin, who is gorgeous at playing Jack (repulican, mentor of Liz and with a calm, yet dramatic attitude), but even though he is a main character, Liz is the character you have to get along with. And I do, she’s this somehow stressed, sensitive and non-cool person. Also, she’s doing all the things I would, the clumsy things, the feminist rages, the not knowing what to do, the food obsession (mainly the latter). I mean, she cares about what other people think (about her or in general), but she gets over it, doing her thing. Also, she does this self-help and trying to be nice thing all the time (and thinking about doing sports, but not wanting to). And still she has the magic touch for weird guys in her lovelife (and at her work place). Somehow she gets very overdramatic from time to time, especially when things don’t work (or she wants food) and there are a lot of great Liz Lemon metaphors from her being dramatic. To help you remember who this Liz person is (or if you don’t know her at all), here are a few quotes.

“Jack Donaghy is gonna kill me and then he’s gonna kill you and then he’s gonna fold us up in a pizza and eat us.”

“There ain’t no party like a Liz Lemon party ’cause a Liz Lemon party is mandatory!”

“What the what?!”

“Why are my arms so weak? It’s like I did that push-up last year for nothing!”

“Just embrace the fact that you are lucky enough to be a happily married man. I mean, I’m actually jealous of you. You’ve got stability, a great marriage, devoted kids. You know what I have? A Sims family that keeps getting murdered.”

“Yes to love, yes to life, yes to staying in more!”

“I don’t care. I’ll start my own group. Rejection from society is what created X-Men!”

“Deviousness? I guess two can play at that game. Just like most games.”

“Really? I already have a drink. Do you think he’d buy me mozzarella sticks?”

If you want more Liz Lemon, have a look here.

Fun Fact: I started reading Tina Fey’s Bossypants, the day this fancy brooch from Kate Gabrielle arrived. Yes, that’s how fancy my life is.

And in case you were wondering: my real spirit animal is a deer. I don’t think Liz Lemon is a possible result in these test.

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Liz Lemon Outfit

Dress – handmade (Skirt-Tutorial) | Petticoat – Hell Bunny | Flowers – claire’s | Liz Lemon Brooch – Kate Gabrielle | Stockings – Pamela Mann via collectif clothing | Shoes – Butterfly Twists | Lipstick – catrice Ultimate Colour in 420 Plum Fiction

One thought on “Liz Lemon is my spirit animal | The brooch and the story.

  1. Pingback: Recap of 2015 & Plans for 2016 | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

