What I did in Hamburg (besides constantly having trouble with my hair)

Hamburg Outfit

Hamburg Outfit

Hamburg Outfit

As you may or may not know I went to Hamburg for two weeks (20th of August – 4th of September). And I totally fell for this city, it’s beautiful. There are wonderful things to see, great shops, friendly people – and it’s approximately ten degrees colder than Munich. So, all the things I like about a city.
Why did I go there anyway? Due to a wonderful friend (and a bit of effort from my side) I had the possibilty to have an internship at Stage Entertainment who produce Musicals in Germany. So, I went there with my mum (she stayed for three days to meet contacts of her company) and on my first day of the internship I got to know two (very nice) people, though I was very shy and awkward. Then, we unpacked a few things, great costums and hats – so many hats. From sunday on I attended fittings in the “Neue Flora” and made notes for tailors/makers. I had some free time/days as well, but especially in the first week I worked a lot. In the second week I worked in the tailoring of the “Operettenhaus” on the Reeperbahn where I sewed a little and repared and brushed hats. Yes, hats are the main aspect of the play. It’s Love Never Dies, in case you wondered, the sequel to Phantom of the Opera.
I stayed with a wonderful and nice family and besides shopping got a lot of reading done. I also went to the “Museum für Kunst & Gewerbe” (museum for art and trade) where I got to see beautiful dresses from past decades and also an amazing exhibiton for tattoos. I love St. Pauli, such a great place for Rockbilly shopping (I went to three within about 200 meters) and it has this shabby charme. Hafen City/Speicherstadt was interesting as well and I could visit a Speicher (some kind of loft) for carpets. I also really enjoyed Fräulein Stadtfein, more of a Pinup/Vintage store with an adorable saleswoman.

Wie ihr vielleicht oder auch nicht wisst war ich für zwei Wochen (20.August – 4.September) in Hamburg. Und ich habe mich total in die Stadt verliebt, sie ist wunderschön. Es gibt wundervolle Dinge zu sehen, großartige Shops, freundliche Menschen – und es ist ca. zehn Grad kälter als München. So, alle Dinge, die ich an einer Stadt mag.
Warum bin ich überhaupt da hingegangen? Wegen einer wunderbaren Freundin (und ein wenig Mühe meinerseits) hatte ich die Möglichkeit für ein Praktikum bei Stage Entertainment, die Musicals produzieren. So, ich bin mit meiner Mutter (sie war für drei Tage hier, um Firmenkontakte zu besuchen) nach Hamburg gefahren und habe am ersten Tag des Praktikums zwei (sehr nette) Menschen kennengelernt, ich war trotzdem schüchtern und verlegen. Dann haben wir einiges ausgepackt, großartige Kostüme und Hüte – sehr viele Hüte. Ab Sontag war ich bei den Anproben in der “Neuen Flora” und habe Notizen für die Schneider/Maker gemacht. Ich hatte Freizeit/freie Tage, aber vor allem in der ersten Woche habe ich sehr viel gearbeitet. In der zweiten Woche habe ich in der Schneiderei des “Operettenhaus” auf der Reeperbahn gearbeitet, wo ich ein wenig genäht habe und Hüte repariert und gebürstet. Ja, Hüte sind ein Hautaspekt des Stückes. Es ist Liebe Stirbt Nie, fall ihr euch gewundert habt, die Fortsetzung von Phantom der Oper.
Ich habe bei eier wunderbaren und netten Familie gelebt und neben Shopping habe ich einiges an Büchern gelesen. Ich war auch im “Museum für Kunst & Gewerbe”, wo ich wunderschöne Kleider vergangener Jahrzehnte und auch eine Ausstellung für Tattoos sehen konnte. Ich liebe St. Pauli, großartig für Rockabilly Shopping (ich war in drei Stück innerhalb von etwa 200 Metern) und es hat diesen schäbbigen Charme.Hafen City/Speicherstadt war auch sehr interessant und ich konnte einen Speicher für Teppiche besichtigen. Ich fand Fräulein Stadtfein auch wunderbar, mehr ein Pinup/Vintage Laden mit einer entzückenden Verkäuferin.

Hamburg Outfit

Hamburg Outfit

Hamburg Outfit

Hamburg Outfit

Skirt – handmade (Tutorial) | Petticoat – Hell Bunny| Cardigan – I think Hallhuber (not sure, because I borrowed it from my mum) | Flower – bought at Maison Chi Chi | Earrings – probably Bijou Brigitte, but old | Shoes – bait Ione via ModCloth | Lipstick – Hema Moisturising Lipstick in 18

7 thoughts on “What I did in Hamburg (besides constantly having trouble with my hair)

  1. Oh ja HH ist großartig! Ich hab auch schon wieder Sehnsucht. Und das Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe ist ebenfalls einfach großartig , eines der tollsten seiner Art wenn nicht überhaupt das Tollste. Tolle Bilder sind das!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Recap of 2015 & Plans for 2016 | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

