Peter Pan Collar Dresses and a Mushroom Twinset

So, since I’m back home from Hamburg, I decided to spend my time sewing. It was a lot of fun and also work (of course), but I made a lot of things I wanted to do before. So, here we go.

Grey and white peter pan collared dress
Fabrics: Venezia FB in stein (bought at Karstadt Munich); Link for skirt-tutorial (without waistband); Top-Pattern: burda young 7012 (but I changed a few things)
Stoffe: Venezia FB in stein; Link für das Rock-tutorial (ohne Bundband); Top-Schnitt: burda young 7012 (aber mit Änderungen)

First, you had to add your own seam allowance to the pattern – and I just prefer the one where there’s a 1.5 cm seam allowance. But, it worked nevertheless and so I spend sunday and tuesday afternoon sewing this. I also added a lining to the top, which got kind of difficult during the process. Since I wanted to have short sleeves, I changed them. Also, I made the collar white (with a lightly shining cotton fabric) and an edge to the sleeves. The grey fabric is very office-y, I’d say, because it’s not entierly cotton and I love the mottled grey. So, this dress combines a few of my favourite dress things – a circle skirt, the colour grey and a peter pan collar. Plus, it doesn’t really wrinkle. And it’s so versaitle. I’m obsessed. I wanted a dress like this for a long time, even though without any accessories it looks a little like nun. Though a Sister Act or Pushing Daisies nun. I think I’ll take some snow and Christmas outfit pictures with this. Also, this was my first successful peter pan collar, so yay for that.

mushroom top
Fabric: Lewis & Irens threaded with love. FOX&FRIENDS D# A046; Top-Pattern: Butterick B5748 (Retro Butterick ’60)
Stoff: Lewis & Irens threaded with love. FOX&FRIENDS D# A046; Top-Schnitt: Butterick B5748 (Retro Butterick ’60)

My grandma bought this fabric some weeks ago and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to make a top or a skirt – now you see, what I chose. So, I made this top on Wednesday. Unfortunatly I forgot to lower the hem, well, it goes with my skirts nevertheless. and I used the wrong knd of zipper – but it works anyway. Also, mushrooms are kind of a autumnal thing and connected to Alice in Wonderland, so I love the pattern and am so thankful, that people look out for beautiful patterns for me.

lilac peter pan collared dress
Fabric: no name printed (bought at Karstadt Munich); Link for skirt-tutorial (without waistband); Top-Pattern: burda young 7012 (but I changed a few things)
Stoff: kein Name (gekauft bei Karstadt München); Link für das Rock-tutorial (ohne Bundband); Top-Schnitt: burda young 7012 (aber mit Änderungen)

When I bought the grey and white fabric, I also bought this lilac/lavender cotton fabric. I wanted a fabric like this for quite some time as well and I considered a pointed peter pan collar matching. Wednesday and Thursday were dedicated to making this dress, once more I added short sleeves. And since I didn’t find a lavender zipper, I took a cream one – anything else I could find (I went to three stores) looked very odd. It kind of reminds me of Kate Gabrielle and I’m excited to wear it with cute brooches.

mushroom cardigan
Fabric: Lewis & Irens threaded with love. FOX&FRIENDS D# A046; Top-Pattern: Simplicty 7717 (without collar)
Stoff: Lewis & Irens threaded with love. FOX&FRIENDS D# A046; Top-Schnitt: Simplicity 7717 (ohne Kragen)

Before I even started the top, I knew I wanted to add a little cardigan kind of thing to the mushroom top. After asking my mum if it should (or should not) have a collar, I removed it, before making this cardigan on thursday after the lilac dress. Later I made buttons like a fly agaric (although the feel a bit clownish to me…). So it’s a twinset and I think this is the perfect autumn twinset (I also found a very cute wool twin set in my mums closet and I hope I can include it in an outfit, too, very soon).

mushroom twinset

What did you sew within the last days and weeks? Or what handmade things did you do?

14 thoughts on “Peter Pan Collar Dresses and a Mushroom Twinset

  1. Richtig süße Sachen mal wieder. :) Besonders den Pilzstoff find ich toll, aber ich muss ehrlich sagen, dass ich beides zu kurz finde… Vielleicht mit einem ganz dünnen Spaghettihemd drunter, aber so find ich das etwas zu knapp. ^^
    Ich hab mir endlich nochmal ein Nähprojekt gesucht, muss aber noch Stoffe kaufen. Wenn es fertig wird, zeig ich es auch. :)

    Like

  2. My goodness, these are all so wonderful! Kudos to you for pumping out so many lovely pieces. I’m lacking inspiration lately for sewing (the heat is sucking it all out of me!), so I’m jealous of your progress. Maybe I will get to my hem and have a finished skirt soon! All your pieces are amazing (that top/jacket set!), but I’m particularly attached to the first dress <3

    Like

  3. Pingback: Liz Lemon is my spirit animal | The brooch and the story. | teepüppchen

  4. Pingback: Pigeonholing. | teepüppchen

  5. Pingback: Have a Holly Jolly Christmas! | teepüppchen

  6. Pingback: Recap of 2015 & Plans for 2016 | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

