My Red Lipstick Essentials. ♥

My Red Lipstick Essentials
You might already know from my Outfit Posts that I’m utterly fond of red lips and wear them on a daily basis. Some might find it a little too much for an everyday make up – which I understand – but then again: why shouldn’t I wear what I love daily, but only on special occassions?

Life is too short.
Make every day a red lipstick day.

💄💄💄

Red lips for sure are a very pinup-y thing and have this 1950s spirit that I love. Today I’m going to share my routine (though sometimes I do indeed leave steps out) for smooth lips, products and things I that are must-haves for my red lips. And even if you don’t wear red lipstick there might be some tips for you nevertheless. And I had so much fun taking these pictures, though it was a little peculiar to be home alone taking lipstick-pictures. I didn’t mind. But I’m really sorry, that some I’m are out of focus in some pictures, but you can’t really see it on the small camera screen.

Heute solle es um ein Faible von mir gehen: rote Lippen und meine dazugehörigen Essentials. Rote Lippen sind schon etwas sehr klassisches, Pinup-mäßiges, vielleicht für einige für den Alltag zu viel. Aber heute zeige ich nichtsdestotrotz meine Routine, meine Produkte und Must-Haves für rote Lippen (auch wenn ich natürlich teilweise Dinge auslasse). Es hat ürbigens auch wirklich Spaß gemacht, die Photos aufzunehmen, obwohl es ein wenig ungewohnt war, allein daheim zu sitzen und Lippenstift-Bilder zu machen. Und es tut mir leid, dass ich teilweise nicht fokusiert bin, aber auf dem kleinen Kamera-Bildschirm kann man das nicht so gut erkennen…

Lip Scrup

Lips Water

Lips Honey

In the evening after removing the lipstick I wore this day, I peel my lips. I don’t do this every day, but only when I feel like doing it or my lips are very dry. To scrup my lips I mix about the same amount of honey and coarse sugar, then I add a little bit of olive oil and mix it all together. Sometimes I peel my lips in the morning, too, but then I rather use a tooth brush, works fine as well. I peel until my lips feel pulse, this makes them a little bigger as well. Next I put some water and then honey on my moist lips to keep the moisture. Honey is like a lip balm for me, it really smooths my lips and isn’t addictive as lip balm. Still I tend to use lip balm or rash cream in the morning while putting on my make up.

Am Abend nach dem Lippenstift-Entfernen, peele ich meine Lippen. Ich mach das nicht jeden Tag, nur, wenn ich dran denke oder meine Lippen sehr spröde sind. Um die Lippen zu peelen mixe ich etwa die gleiche Menge an groben Zucker und Honig (und etwas Olivenöl) zusammen. Manchmal peele ich meine Lippen auch am Morgen, aber dann verwende ich eher eine Zahnbürste, was auch gut funktioniert. Ich peele solange, bis die Lippen pulsieren, dann sehen sie auch größer aus. Als nächstes gebe ich etwas Wasser und Honig auf die feuchten Lippen, um die Feuchtigkeit einzuschließen. Honig ist mein Lippenbalsam, er macht die Lippen sehr weich und ist kein Süchtigmacher wie Lippenbalsam. Trotzdem verwende ich morgens, während ich mich schminke teilweise Lippenbalsam oder Wundcreme.

Lip Essentials Scrup & Care

Lipliner

Lip Brush

Lip Brush

After priming my lips (if I do so in the morning) I use with my lipliner. I start in the middle, making a little cross at the cupid’s bow and then going down. On my lower lip I start in the middle as well. I tend to draw little strokes from the middle (both on the upper and lower lip) to the sides, but sometimes I do it the other way round and draw little strokes from the sides to the middle I drew before. I’m pretty okay with the shape of my lip, so I don’t change it a lot. Seldomly I’ll overdraw to make my lips appear bigger, because it’s always kind of a mess, but from time to time I lift my cupid’s bow. However, I then fill my lips with lipstick (this one is Sleek True Colour Lipstick Matte in 778 Stiletto) using a brush. Here I use the ebelin lip brush, but I actually prefer the Kiko Lip Brush a lot – though the open-close-system was kind of impractical and I eventualy broke it. But when I get back to Kiko, I’ll definetly re-buy it.

Nach dem Vorbereiten meiner Lippen, verwende ich Lipliner. Ich fange in der Mitte an mit einen kleinen Kreuz am Amorbogen und gehe dann nach unten. An der Unterlippe beginne ich auch in der Mitte. Dann ziehe ich die mit kurzen Strichen die Linien entweder weiter, oder gehe von der Seite zu den bereits bestehenden. Ich komme mit meiner Lippenform gut klar und verändere da nicht viel. Selten übermale ich die Lippen um sie größer wirken zu lassen, weil es immer so unordentlich ist, aber ab und an hebe ich den Amorbogen. Dann male ich die Lippen mit dem Lippenstift (hier verwende ich Sleek True Colour Lipstick Matte in 778 Stiletto) auf einem Pinsel aus. Hier verwende ich den von ebelin, der von Kiko ist mir aber trotz unpraktischer Auf-Zu-Technik lieber und ich werde meinen kaputten ersetzen.

Lip Essentials Liner & Brush

Lipstick

Lip Brush

Then I put some lipstick on just using the lipstick without a brush. I’m really fond of Sleek lip products, everything I tried so far worked amazing for me, I only own matte Sleek Lipsticks, but both neither Stiletto nor Russian Roulette dry my lips and even the matte lip cream isn’t that dry, still they stay on my lips pretty much all day long. The Lipstick I bought at Hema in Amsterdam isn’t matte, but I love it, too and it really is moisturising. Pictures and Links to reviews are down below. To make the line a little sharper, I redo it with my lipbrush, holding it sidewards.

Dann trage ich Lippenstift einfach so ohne Pinsel auf. Ich mag die Sleek Lippenprodukte übrigens sehr, sie trocknen kaum aus, obwohl meine alle matt sind – die True Colours noch weniger logischerweise als die Lip Cream, dennoch halten sie den ganzen Tag auf meinen Lippen. Der Hema-Lippenstift aus Amsterdam ist nicht matt, aber ich liebe ihn trotzdem und er spendet wirklich gut Feuchtigkeit. Bilder und Links zu Reviews sind unten. Um die Linie schärfer zu machen, ziehe ich sie mit dem seitlich gehaltenen Lippenpinsel nach.

Lip Essentials Lipstick

Concealer

After sharpening the outline I use cotton buds to remove lipstick that is out of my lip contour. On weekends or when I’ve got more time in the morning I use my concealer to sharpen the contour as well and to prevent the lipstick from leaking out.

Nach dem Nachziehen, verwende ich Wattestäbchen um Lippenstift außerhalb der Kontur zu entfernen. An Wochenenden oder wenn ich mehr Zeit habe, benutze ich noch Concealer um die Kontur zu schärfen und den Lippenstift am Auslaufen zu hindern.

Lip Essentials Cleaning

Mattifying

If I use a shiny lipstick, I sometimes feel like mattifying it. I just put a tissue on my lips, then powder it and everything is matte (to show how it works, I changed my lipstick and used the Hema one).

Wenn ich glänzenden Lippenstift verwende, mattiereich ihn manchmal. Ich lege einfach ein Taschentuch auf die Lippen, pudere sie und alles ist matt (um zu zeigen, wie es funktioniert, habe ich den Lippenstift gewechsekt und den von Hema verwendet).

Lip Essentials Mattifying

hema moisturising lipstick 18

hema moisturising lipstick 18

sleek true colour lipstick stiletto

sleek true colour lipstick stiletto

sleek true colour lipstick stiletto

sleek true colour lipstick russian roulette

sleek true colour lipstick russian roulette

sleek true colour lipstick russian roulette

sleek true colour lipstick russian roulette

sleek matte me ultimate matte lip cream rioja red

sleek matte me ultimate matte lip cream rioja red

sleek matte me ultimate matte lip cream rioja red

The lipsticks that I used are always mentioned in the last picture in a row.
Die Lippenstifte, die ich jeweils trage, sind immer im letzten Bild der Reihe genannt.
Products I used | Verwendete Produkte
Sleek True Colour Lipstick Matte in 778 Stiletto | Sleek True Colour Lipstick Matte in 795 Russian Roulette | Sleek Matte Me Ultra Smooth Matte Lip Cream in 433 Rioja Red | Hema Moisturising Lipstick in 18 | alverde Lipliner in 12 Soft Red | ebelin Lip Brush

Stay tuned for upcoming lipstick reviews within the next weeks. There’ll also be a makeup tutorial up next week. Tell me, what’s your favourite (red) lipstick? What’s your go-to colour?

Verfolgt den Blog weiter für Lippenstick Reviews in den nächsten Wochen. Es wird nächste Woche auch ein Makeup Tutorial online gehen. Erzählt mir gerne on euren liebsten (roten) Lippenstiften. Was ist eure Standart-Farbe, wozu greift ihr morgens meist?

9 thoughts on “My Red Lipstick Essentials. ♥

  1. Wirklich süße Bilder. :) Ich liebe ja deine neue Brille!! <3 Das mit dem Peeling mache ich auch regelmäßig, mir Lipliner etc. wäre mir glaube ich etwas zu aufwändig, zumal ich bei Liplinern auch viel zu wenig Auswahl an Farben hätte, aber ich muss auch gestehen, dass Lippenstift bei mir nur selten lange hält. Wer weiß ob Lipliner und erst mit Pinsel auftragen da helfen würde… Probier ich demnächst mal zum Ausgehen oder so. :)
    Liebe Grüße

    Like

  2. You look stunning on this photos! This bow is so cute in your hairstyle. I don’t think that red lipstick is too much for everyday. I think it depends on appearance. On some faces red lipstick looks too much.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Colourful Eye Makeup | Back to the Future | teepüppchen

Leave a Reply

